Manhattans – The Recipe

It’s Friday my friends, and the nights are starting to get cooler – so I’ve got the perfect, classic drink for all of you – Manhattans.

Manhattans hold a special meaning to my family, it’s become our little family staple drink in order to remember my Grandma, Marilyn – it was definitely her drink.  Manhattans are a bit strong, depending on your level of taste, but oh so good once you acquire a taste for them.  I’m going to share my recipe – although I feel like there are a few variations you can do to mix it up.

What You’ll Need:

1. Whiskey – I prefer Makers Mark
2. Sweet Vermouth
3. Cherries
4. Bitters – Optional
5. Ice

img_6206
Directions: First get lots of ice cubes in your glass, get a shot glass (big or small) and pour in your sweet vermouth – 1 full shot.  Next pour in equal amounts of the Makers Mark, from there you can add a cherry or two for garnish and a splash, or pour of cherry juice. I don’t like adding bitters, but is definitely on some recipes. As you can see I even have Manhattans recipe napkins that were an awesome find at Marshalls – but have a totally different recipe.

Once you’ve mixed your drink to perfection and give it a good stir, be sure to cheers before taking your first sip! And if you have nothing to cheers for, cheers to Marilyn!


Cheers to Marilyn!

Leave a Reply

