#EmnBWed – The Dress

So a few weekends ago, I surprised my mom with dress shopping. We were walking to a nearby boutique (she didn’t know where we were going) and on the way there, I said, “Ok! We are going dress shopping!”  She replied, “We Are?!” She was excited and surprised about it for sure. I went into the appointment with the mindset of not finding a dress and just wanting to try on a lot of different styles and options to see how they looked and figure out what I like – but that quickly changed. I quickly started figuring out what I liked, and what I didn’t like. Butttt I also liked a lot of different styles.  The boutique we visited blew me away – they had unique, well made dresses in lots of different styles and fabrics, not to mention what seemed like unlimited customization options, well unlimited based on your budget. *winks* This was all confirmed after visiting a chain wedding dress store.  All the dresses seemed cheap, over done with lace and bling and just completely lack luster.  Although it was good to have the comparison, I don’t think I’ll be bothering with any stores like that again. FullSizeRender (2)FullSizeRender (3)FullSizeRender (1)FullSizeRender
So I thought almost all of the dresses I tried on at the boutique looked really good, not to sound full of myself, but they did!  It got hard narrowing them down, especially the styles that I really liked. Luckily, some of the styles/looks just weren’t what I’m going for. For example – the last dress was AMAZING, if we were having a winter wedding that would definitely be a top contender along with the full beaded dress (it was SO heavy). The other part I loved about the boutique is that the owner would pair different dresses from a designer to make a new dress; observe above in picture #2!  It truly helped envision and create a dress unique for you.

I ended up going back the week after with Katie (surprising her too), so I could share the experience with her and also show her my top contenders after going with my mom. Having one-on-one shopping trips with my favorite people is definitely not the conventional way, but it’s my way of making special memories with each of them.

When Katie and I went back, I think we found the dress. Although I’m not sure I will get that feeling, of just knowing, but I think I’m pretty darn close. It’s so pretty.

So here is my advice to first time bridal dress shoppers;

  1. It’s OK to say NO!
  2. Don’t be afraid to speak up or ask questions, especially when it comes to price
  3. Go to at least one smaller boutique
  4. It’s OK if you don’t get THAT feeling, just pick what feels right
  5. You don’t need to know all the shapes/styles by name, just have your pinterest board ready!
  6. The decision might be harder than you think!
  7. Think accessories with your dresses; belts, necklaces, veil, hairstyle, shoes. Every little detail will tie into your overall look and vision!
  8. Invite as many people (or not) as you want
  9. Take pictures
  10. Enjoy it!

Unfortunately, the dress won’t be shared until our wedding day – so you’ll have well over a year for that one! Bum bum bum!

5 thoughts on “#EmnBWed – The Dress

  1. Wow these dresses all look gorgeous! It’s amazing how different all the different styles look, I found it so hard to choose ‘the one’ as I liked so many! Enjoy the rest of your wedding planning 😄

    1. Thank you so much! It is truly a hard decision, especially when styles you don’t expect blow you away! Thanks so much for the warm thoughts!!

Leave a Reply

