Backyard Patio – DIY Project

After much deliberation and back and forth, B and I have finally figured out what we’re going to do to create a backyard-patio living space. There was a few different options discussed, but I think we’ve come up with a solution that will work for the space, long term, and won’t break the bank (hopefully).

Inspiration:

We did the measurements last night and the biggest part of adding in a completely flat patio (without a deck or floating deck) that I was having an issue is, was the weird space it would be next to the house, being low without a direct door leading out to it. But I think having larger greenery in pots surrounding the area in the corners closer to the house, will help solve that problem I was having.  I also think adding in some lights above the one patio area leading up to our sun room on the second floor will add an intimate feel. We will also have a separate dining area from the lounge area, which I think it’s crucial, since I want both spaces to feel spacious.

Our plan is to get 20×20″ square concrete pavers and river pebbles to place in between the pavers. I’m still determining all the spacing between each of the pavers, I was originally thinking 1-inch, but most of the projects I’ve seen are about 3-inch gaps are larger, so we will see where we net out with ours.

Needless to say, B and I are both itching to get this project complete, although it’s not going to be as inexpensive as I had hoped from the initial figures, but I will be sure to follow-up with the finished product and details in the next month or so!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Backyard Patio – DIY Project

  1. We used square pavers and river rocks in our backyard, too! I love the look of it, just be prepared to buy a LOT more river rocks than you initially planned for. Also, make sure the ground is level – we tilled a million times but even still, the ground is slightly uneven and so are the pavers. I still think it’s a beautiful, clean look and it’ll look great in your yard! Let me know if you want to swing by to take a look at ours and pick our brains 🙂

    1. I think I remember now that I think about it! Will definitely pick your brain a bit, did you put a sand and crushed gravel based down before laying the larger square pavers? Fairly easy beside making sure it’s all level?

Leave a Reply

