Banana Bread – The Recipe

One thing I love about having bananas around the house is that if you don’t eat them up in time (which we never do) you can make banana bread!  My mom always made banana bread, and it wasn’t until I lived on my own for awhile, that I had these brown bananas staring at me, I finally took the jump to try mom’s recipe out (not as hard as I thought).

I wanted to share my mom’s banana bread recipe with all of you! It’s nothing special, but it sure as hell tastes good!  I like to add blueberries or chocolate chips  when I have them – it just gives the bread a little added taste, enjoy!

Banana Bread  Recipe - the bee life

You can combine the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients in two separate bowls and then ultimately combine to mix together.   You want to mix everything together until it’s well blended, add any extra ingredients like chocolate chips (I normally eyeball the amount) and give it another mix! Evenly pour into your greased bread pan, and then sprinkle your sugar and cinnamon on top (as much as you want!) To make sure the bread is cooked all the way through, after 45 minutes I usually take it out to check and stick tooth picks in to make sure the center isn’t gooey, if it is, I usually put back in for another 15 minutes and then check again.  I noticed that the blue berries required a little over an hour cook time (but I checked every 10-15 minutes to make sure it didn’t get too crispy). Let it cool, before you flip out of your bread pan onto a plate. Your house will smell amazing, and you will have this awesome and tasty treat for breakfast the whole next week!

IMG_0620IMG_0622IMG_0626

Bon appétit!

2 thoughts on “Banana Bread – The Recipe

Leave a Reply

