Fitness Friday no. 8

It’s Friday, yet again, but this Friday is a Fitness Friday!  And we’re nearing the end of our second month into the New Year. I can’t believe it’s only been two-months, but yet we’re knocking on March’s door. How have you been doing with your 2016 fitness goals?

I don’t know about any of you, but this past month was definitely a struggle for me.  I felt like I made big moves in the right direction in January and was feeling good about keeping it going into February, but life got in the way – and just like that, I fell off the wagon a little bit. Which is another reason why I like focusing 30-days at a time, because I am more aware and conscious of successes and areas of improvement, in the moment, not 8-months too late.
Fitness Friday 08 - the bee lifeI watched the Biggest Loser this past season (just ended this past week) and they kept emphasizing that life happens outside of the ranch, and that’s going to be the biggest obstacle – and isn’t that the truth. So if you’re like me and had a bit of a struggle into this next month, it’s OK just remember these things:

It’s Not Easy – Understanding and accepting that it’s not going to be easy is half the battle, knowing that there are going to be continuous temptations and ups and downs, is good! It’s all about balance, and knowing you’re going to have to continually work and navigate all that comes with life. Don’t give up!

Be Aware Be aware when you’re making a choice that might not be the best for your fitness and health success, tempted by the mini cupcakes in the lunch room at work? Or wanting to sit on the couch after a long day at work instead of taking 30-minutes to crank a workout in? Being aware, regardless of the path you take will lead to better choices the next time.

Do Change – Once you’re aware, start doing, it doesn’t do you any good thinking about the workout you missed or the salad you could’ve had at lunch – actually do the workout, and eat the salad!  Make change, and start changing those bad habits that don’t help your health.  One thing that has helped for me, do, is grocery shopping and stocking up on good snacks and food for lunches, and dinners – this prevents us from ordering take out at the last minute because they fridge is empty.

Something Is Better Than Nothing – I think I’ve said this before, but a 30-minute workout is better than nothing.  So when you’re about to pass up a chance to workout or “don’t have enough time,” you do. Make it work, and get that workout in, it all adds up and helps you become stronger in your journey to success!

This past week I stepped it up significantly, because although I realized I didn’t do as much as I could have this month, I also realized I still had time to make a difference and get back on the saddle!

Happy Friday!

3 thoughts on “Fitness Friday no. 8

Leave a Reply

