Wednesday Reminders – Growing Up

I’ve been recently reminded that I can still figure out what I want to do with my life.  At a young age and verging legal adulthood we’re pressured to decide what we want to do with THE REST OF OUR LIVES,  what we want to study at college and where we want to go. It’s scary and intimidating! And from college we’re challenged with figuring it out once the 4-years (or more) are nearly over and… actually do it.

I was lucky. I knew the general field I wanted to study, which was good and when I did any tweaking it wasn’t major, I didn’t need to start over, like some people do, let alone go back to school after you’ve graduated. That always sounded like a nightmare, and had a stigma of a failure.

But now I am realizing that we can still figure out what we want to do with our lives, even after college, even after we’ve been in the ‘real world’ for a brief or long period of time.  We can still go back to school and learn something new, pursue a passion and make it more than just a hobby.  It’s OK to change paths if it’s something that makes sense for you and makes you happy. it takes courageto grow up and become whoyou really are.I often joke with my bestie, that it sucks being a grown-up, having student loans to pay, a full time job, a mortgage/rent, car payment, insurance… shall I continue? All those things we don’t like, but have to do.  We then joke and say; “And we wanted all of this?!” – a lot of it is inevitable, but we can at least be happy while we’re grown-ups and if that means pursuing a different path or figuring out what we want to do with our lives, it’s OK.

I believe being happy in all aspects of your life (as much as possible) is important to your success. I think that if we’re not happy or still figuring out what we want to do in our lives its OK to take time each week and focus and figure out what that is and the steps you need to take to reach your goals.

Leave a Reply

