Happy New Year. Happy New You!

A belated Happy 2014 to all!
Image

Call me cliche, but I really feel like this is going to be a good year. Not that 2013 was bad, but there were some moments (as there will always be!)

I started to write a few goals down for the New Year, which I haven’t done before. Which is ironic because, I have always been a firm believer that if you write something down and see it every day, it will eventually happen.

Here are a few of my 2014 Goals;

1)  Run a half marathon
2)  Read at least one book a month
3)  Become an AE
4)  Get back into my workout routine – strengthening and cardio
5)  Save more money!
6)  Take more trips with Bentley
7)  Write more on my blog/journal
8)  Don’t hold grudges/ be less stubborn
9)  Continue to eat healthier

I hope that writing down my 2014 goals will help me strive and achieve self-improvement for a happier life! Writing my goals down has allowed me to reflect on some things that I may or may not want to admit to myself! ie: #8  The good thing about goals is that they can be small and simple or they can be big and require more work. I love taking on a challenge, especially when it’s myself, I can be my own biggest critic sometimes.

For more reflection and self-guidance, Bentley and I are reading a book together, called; “Where Will You Be Five Years from Today?” by Dan Zadra. It’s an interactive work book that allows you to fill out your top values in life, dreams, goals, which ultimately helps for you to assess your life and allow you to be your most productive self over the next 5 years. Reaching and meeting those goals and dreams that you long to accomplish.

In five years I’ll be 29! Eeek!!

The book provides some amazing examples of what people have accomplished in five years, for example;

  • Michelangelo painted the Sistine Chapel in under five years.
  • After loosing their jobs, Arthur Blank and Bernie Marcus created and went public with their business model, Home Depot.  Three years later their annual sales reached $1 Billion.

It’s a pretty interesting and thought provoking book, it’s helped me put my life and goals in prospective, although we haven’t finished the book I have been impressed with the first 6 pages!

So here is too a happier you and happier new year!  Make this year, a year for you and a year for your future.

Cheers!

xo-eb

Fun ending to 2013 and beginning of 2014!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year. Happy New You!

Leave a Reply

